Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20869

Law 13 - Free Kicks 2/20/2009

RE: Adult

Mirsad Hasic of , Sweden asks...

If the ball is supposed to move forward the circumfrence of the ball, what is the penalty if the kicking team does not kick the ball forward after two attempts? Does the ball go to the other team as a free kick?

Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The ball does not have to travel its circumference. That was removed from the Laws 11 years ago. Rather, it must be 'kicked and moves'.

On a kickoff that must go forward, the kick is retaken if it does not go forward. If the team repeatedly cannot get the ball to move forward, you may caution them for delaying a restart. You cannot change the restart.

Except at a penalty kick you do change the restart. If the team kicks the ball backwards on a PK, they have violated Law 14. Violations by the kicking team with the ball not going into the goal result in an IFK for the other team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The ball does not need to move 27 in. anymore. It only needs to be kicked and moves.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

All free kicks must be actually kicked and moved in a discernable way as not to leave us guessing.
ONLY Pks and kick offs require the ball MUST go forward!
ON any other free kick it can be kicked and moved in ANY direction this includes corner kicks!
Any defending free kicks from inside the penalty area must first CLEAR the 18 yards boundary lines into the field to be in play.
As mentioned the distance of the kick need not be 27 inches but it MUST be struck with the foot and move from point a to b. A simple wobble or squeeze by placing a foot on top does not truly qualify in my opinion.

Only on a PK is it possible for a restart to change if the ball is not kicked forward into play BUT it still must be kicked BACKWARDS to change this restart to an indfk for the opposition. This is an anomaly that confuses many referees as to why this can occur. While it does fit the PK instructions of a ball not entering the goal once a signal is given it also contradicts that the ball must be kicked forward to be in play!

It was suggested that since it states an incorrectly taken throw in is awarded to the opposition that we could extend that to a ball that does not actually enter into the field from an incorrectly taken throw -in could also be awarded to the opposition given this PK exception that allows a ball not yet in play to create a new restart.

Personally I see this potentially as delaying the restart thus cautionable misconduct and cardable if the restart is being fooled with.
That said it sort of depends on the restart circumstances.

IF the ball is not kicked, only foot contacted and another team mate cones along and kicks it if it was an indfk someone who also have to touch the ball to legally enter any goal.

IF the team-mate dribbled the ball, then on the 2nd touch it is an indfk for the opposition.

The issue of foot to ball contact is often the opposition will charge within the ten yards if the ball is so contacted by the foot as they see it as the attackers have in fact kicked the ball into play. Often the attackers and defenders are ok with this and a referee simply chooses not to interfere in something they appear satisfied with even if the ball kick motion was rather iffy!
Cheers





Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I've read your question 3 times and am still not certain what you are asking? Are you saying the same player kicked the ball a few inches then kicked it again? In that case, yes, the other team would get an Indirect free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20869
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>