- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 20985Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/15/2009RE: Rec Adult David Lovett of Royal Palm Beach, Florida USA asks...I am a former USSF certified Ref. I am looking for a rule interpretation. When is an indirect free kick in play? What is the latest law AND interpretation of the law? Is it when it is touched or touched AND moved? If it is touched and moved, what is the interpretation of moved that is being taught in the classes. What does the newest Advice to Refeeres book say? If it is touched and sort of wiggles but does not physically leave the spot where it is, is the wiggle considered moved? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney That will depend in part on the referee. Technically, the ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. Kicked means with the foot, and moved means it visibly moves 'from here to there', however far enough that is to satisfy the referee that it has in fact been kicked and moved. Far enough is not very far - inches even. Touched and wiggled is not generally considered to be enough to meet the kicked and moved standard. Again, it is the referee's decision as to what will be accepted as kicked and moved, and her decision is final.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino It's not 'touched' and anything. It's when it is kicked and moves. Here's what LOTG say on page 122 LAW 13 ? FREE KICKS Procedure The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. A free kick can be taken by lifting the ball with a foot or both feet simultaneously. And from the latest Advice 13.5 13.5 BALL IN PLAY The ball is in play (able to be played by an attacker other than the kicker or by an opponent) when it has been kicked and moved. The distance to be moved is minimal and the 'kick' need only be a touch of the ball with the foot in a kicking motion. Simply tapping the top of the ball with the foot or stepping on the ball are not sufficient. When the restart of play is based on the ball being kicked and moved, the referee must ensure that the ball is indeed kicked (touched with the foot in a kicking motion) and moved (caused to go from one place to another). Being 'kicked' can include an action in which the ball is dragged by continuous contact with the foot. The referee must make the final decision on what is and is not 'kicked and moved' based on the spirit and flow of the match. The referee must judge carefully whether any particular kick of the ball and subsequent movement was indeed reasonably taken with the intention of putting the ball into play rather than with the intention merely to position the ball for the restart. If the ball is just being repositioned (even if the foot is used to do this), play has not been restarted. Likewise, referees should not unfairly punish for 'failing to respect the required distance' when an opponent was clearly confused by a touch and movement of the ball which was not a restart. The referee must make the final decision on what is a 'kick' and what is 'not a kick' based on his or her feeling for the game-what FIFA calls 'Fingerspitzengef?hl' (literally: 'sensing with one's fingertips').
You'll note that these interpretations apply to both direct and indirect free kicks
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20985
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|