Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 20997

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/18/2009

RE: comp Adult

Bey Forghani of Orinda, ca contra costa asks...

can an own player receive the ball inside the penalty box on a DFK or IFK or the ball must clear the box first? Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

All free kicks taken by the defending team inside their own penalty area must clear the penalty area before they are in play. If any player, from either team, makes contact with the ball before it is clears the line, the free kick must be retaken. This can all be found in Law 13.

It is the same scenario as for goal kicks. The wording in Law 16 is identical to that in Law 13; I wonder why so many people know it is true for goal kicks but don't know about it for other kicks? Seems like whenever I enforce it I hear, "But it's not a goal kick!"



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

It is one of those tiny tidbits of information about law that seem to pass unnoticed! On ANY free kick going out of the penalty area bythe defenders the ball MUST cross the PA boundry lines into play before anyone (except the original kicker) can play that ball a second time. While I have seen it ignored by referees it is generally because they forgot rather than deem it trifling or doubtful!

FIFA QUOTE
" Free Kick Inside the Penalty Area
Direct or indirect free kick to the defending team:
? all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball
? all opponents must remain outside the penalty area until the ball is in play

? the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area

? a free kick awarded in the goal area may be taken from any point inside that area
If, when a free kick is taken by the defending team from inside its own penalty area, the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area:
? the kick is retaken"
End Quote
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I assume you are asking if a free kick is taken by the defending team from inside it's own penalty area, may the ball be played by a teammate before the ball leaves the penalty area. The answer is no. If a teammate touches the ball before it leaves the penalty area the kick is retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 20997
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>