Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 21001

Law 13 - Free Kicks 3/18/2009

RE: Adult

Phiwa of Richards Bay, SOUTH AFRICA asks...

Last week our defender kicked an indirect free-kick towards our goalkeeper. The ball went straight into the net without being touched and the was allowed to stand. Is this a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It should not have been a goal. Indirect means the ball must touch another player (of either team) before a goal can be scored.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

No. In the first place, a team cannot score against themselves directly off of a free kick restart.

If it was in fact an indirect that went straight into the goal, not touching another player on the way, then the restart should have been a corner kick.

If the referee meant for it to be a direct free kick, but signalled indirect instead, the kick needs to be retaken.

Perhaps some re-education is in order for the referee, so that the differences between indirect free kicks and direct free kicks won't be so confusing?



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

NO!

No team may score against itself directly from any free kick (direct or indirect), goal kick, throw-in, or corner kick. You can't because the laws specify that you can't.

Restart is a corner kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

OOPS.



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21001
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>