- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 21070Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/1/2009RE: Under 11 MICHAEL of NYC, NY USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 21023 IDFK to attacking team - when does this happen in the box? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Really, Michael, go find your Laws of the Game and read it! IDFK's in the penalty area (there are no boxes on the field) for the attacking team can be the result of any of the offenses in Law 12 involving the goalkeeper - all of those are IDFK's. It could be a playing in a dangerous manner call, or an impeding call against a defender. If the IDFK is in the goal area (the smaller one), the kick will be taken from the top of the goal area line closest to where the offense occurred. All of the defenders must be at least 10 yards away, OR on the goal line in between the goal posts.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Or if play is stopped for misconduct that does not involve a direct free kick foul.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Lose that term box, try penalty area within which is the 6 yard goal area . Indfk offences are few in number but broad in that misconduct not covered in law could justify awarding one if play was stopped solely to show a card! As mentioned the most basic are impeding (interference without contact and no ball) and PIADM (playing in a dangerous manner!) Preventing the keeper with the ball in his hands from releasing that ball back into play is one directed solely to the outside players where the keeper has 4 special INDFKs infractions, 6 seconds, 2nd touch, illegal use of hands on a team mates deliberate kick and illegal use of hands on a team mates direct throw ?in Indfk offences are taken from where the infraction occurs or if the ball location is to be used from inside the penalty area EXCEPT if they occur inside the GOAL area! Attacking INDFKs that occur INSIDE this GOAL area are ALWAYS pulled back to a distance of 6 yards to the outer parallel line to the goal line . The DEFENSIVE indfks out are not subject to that special clause and the ball could be placed ANYWHERE within the 120 square yard goal area! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21070
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|