Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 21379

Law 13 - Free Kicks 5/19/2009

RE: Rec Under 13

Mark of Elkins, WV US asks...

If an indirect free kick goes directly into the goal, without being touch by another player, what is the process to restart the game? Do they kick again or is an IFK awarded to the defending team? And, would it count as a goal if the ball deflected off a defending player immediately after the IFK and went into the goal? Thank you

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Perhaps it would be helpful to review the Laws of the Game? They are online at the www.ussoccer.com or at the FIFA website.

IDFKs must touch another player (any player besides the kicker) before they enter the goal in order for the goal to count. So a deflection off of a defender into the goal will score.

The restart for an IDFK that leaves the field over the goal line having not touched another player will be a goal kick. See Law 13:

The Indirect Free Kick
Signal
The referee indicates an indirect free kick by raising his arm above his
head. He maintains his arm in that position until the kick has been
taken and the ball has touched another player or goes out of play.
Ball Enters the Goal
A goal can be scored only if the ball subsequently touches another
player before it enters the goal:
? if an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the opponents' goal,
a goal kick is awarded
? if an indirect free kick is kicked directly into the team's own goal,
a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

INDFK requires the ball have a second touch by ANY player from either team except the kicker to legally enter either goal.
However the ball is in play the moment it is kicked and moved!

If on an indfk the ball is kicked directly into the goal it WAS in play then it went OUT of play but because of the restriction it CAN NOT be a goal! The fact is the ball left the field last touched by the kicker before traveling over the goal line thus the restart is based on THAT knowledge!

If the kicker kicked an INDFK directly into the oppositions goal it is a GOAL KICK coming out!
If the kicker kicked an INDFK directly into his OWN goal it is a
Corner kick !

If the kicker kicked an INDFK directly towards either goal and on the way to the goal ANY contact of the ball off an opponent or team mate and the ball enters into the goal by way of crossing the goal line under the crossbar and between the posts we have a good goal followed by a kick off provided there was no infringement on the play or this was not a defending INDFK originating inside the penalty area in which the ball had not cleared the boundary lines into play .
Cheers





Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

A little logical thinking leads directly to the restart needed: A ball last touched by attacking team goes completely across the goal line, but a goal is not scored ---> Goal kick. So even if it wasn't listed specifically in the Laws, we'd know what to do.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21379
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>