- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 21443Law 13 - Free Kicks 5/31/2009RE: Under 18 steven of sydney, nsw australia asks...Law 16 If the ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area from a goal kick: ? the kick is retaken 13 " Position of Free Kick) If, after the ball is in play, the kicker deliberately handles the ball before it has touched another player: ? a direct free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred (see Law 13 " Position of Free Kick) ? a penalty kick is awarded if the infringement occurred inside the kickers penalty area If this Happens ball is not kicked directly out of the penalty area from a goal kick so the kick is retaken? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol It could happen if the ball was kicked directly out of the penalty area, but then some force applied by a non-player caused the ball to go back into the penalty area. Perhaps there was a lot of spin on the ball, or near-hurricane-force winds, or the ball was shot directly at the referee and rebounded back into the PA. IFAB (the writers of the Laws) don't expect this to happen that all much; rather they are covering all contingencies for consistency. Every once in a while, being consistent seems to go into excruciatingly fine detail.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson I am not exactly sure what you want explained? Any free kick EXITING the defending penalty area must first leave the penalty area into the field to be in play. If the ball was contacted by a player using their hand BEFORE it left it is MISCONDUCT and the kick is retaken with the cautionable misconduct punished by a showing a yellow card to the perpetrator. If the ball exited the field first over the goal line before making it into the field it is a retake. If the ball was kicked outside into play but spin and wind or a badly positioned referee brought it back into the area and our KICKER deliberately used the hands even though it was a second touch INDFK offence the foul of handles the ball deliberately is a more serious infraction it would take precedence over the INDFK thus a Pk awarded. It COULD not be DOGSO as any second touch on the part of the kicker is an automatic INDFK. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino If the kicker or any other player touches the ball before it leaves the penalty area on a goal kick or any free kick going out of the penalty area, the kick is retaken. Period. The portion of Law 13 you quote is for after the ball is in play which means for a goal kick, after the ball has left the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Law 16 pretty thoroughly covers anything and everything that can occur during a goal kick. Offenses occuring AFTER the ball is put into play - aka the ball completely exits the penalty area directly are punished according to Law 12. You'll note all of the 'If, after the ball is in play...' language? If any offenses occur before the ball is in play, we retake. Period. AFTER the ball exits the penalty area, there is no chance for a retake. Law 13 tells us where to place the ball if one of the Law 12 offenses occurs AFTER the ball is in play from a goal kick. Those Law 12 offenses are second touch violations, deliberately handling the ball violations or even the rare event of the ball exiting the penalty area and being swept back into the goal by the wind. In that case, since you can't score on yourself from a restart, the restart is a corner kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21443
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|