- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 21565Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/19/2009RE: Adult George P of Lawrence, KS United States asks...This question is a follow up to question 21520 I am a ref, and this used to bug me a bit. I have since been assimilated fully into the ref borg and no longer worry about it. BUT, once the IDK is indicated by the held arm, the only reason for it to remain up is if the ball is headed to the goal. In that case, it gives some important information to the keeper, (and, I guess, it reminds the ref that the kick is indirect). Other than that, there is no REAL reason for the arm to remain in the air, correct? So if the ball is clearly NOT headed toward the goal, then the ref could lower it, if only the borg allowed. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Ah, a Star Trek reference! As you well know, you will be assimilated and once you are part of the collective, you will be hearing the thoughts of all other assimilated referees and you will all be in agreement. The problem becomes, what do you do with players that have NOT been assimilated and will not hear the thoughts of the collective Hence, the reason you hold your arm in the air is to tell everyone that a goal may not be scored as long as your arm is up. That's why you MUST hold your arm up until the ball touches another player or goes out of play. By then lowering your arm, you are telling everyone that now a goal may be scored. If you have Cardassian players they will not understand you as they expect you to always lie and Klingons will just start fighting. I have found that as a group, Vulcans are most reasonable and Romulans the biggest pains in the butt.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham Or do it because it will save your bacon. I once watched a brilliant shot sail 45 yards into the upper V. No doubt that I would have allowed the goal, except I saw that my right arm was still up. In the excitement of the shot, I had forgotten that it was in IFK. If you always keep the arm up until the ball is touched, you don't have to think about whether the ball is headed toward the goal.
Resistance is futile.
Dennis
Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham
View Referee Dennis Wickham profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21565
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|