Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 21633

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/8/2009

Tony of Sydney, NSW Australia asks...

If a player on the field of play and the ball is in play spits at a palyer who is off the field of play. You send him off and start with a dropped ball because the infringement (point of cantact or intended contact)happened off the field? Or is it an indirect free kick from the place of the spitter or where the ball was?

If a player on the field of play and the ball is in play spits at an AR who is off the field of play. I thought the restart then is an Indirect free kick at the spot where the spit came from. Not a dropped ball.

What if an opponent on the field of play spat at a sub off the field of play.

Please help as I seem to have got myself confused on my restarts for spitting when the ball is in play.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

you can use the rules for objects thrown for spitting:

Restart of play
? If a player standing inside his own penalty area throws an object at an
opponent standing outside the penalty area, the referee restarts play with a
direct free kick to the opponents' team taken from the position where the
object struck or would have struck the opponent
? If a player standing outside his own penalty area throws an object at an
opponent standing inside the penalty area, the referee restarts play with a
penalty kick
? If a player standing inside the fi eld of play throws an object at any person
standing outside the fi eld of play, the referee restarts play with an indirect
free kick, taken from the position in which the ball was located when play
was stopped (see Law 13 ? Position of Free Kick)
? If a player standing outside the fi eld of play throws an object at an
opponent standing inside the fi eld of play, the referee restarts play with a
direct free kick to the opponents' team, taken from the position where the
object struck or would have struck the opponent or with a penalty kick (if
inside the offending player's own penalty area)
? If a substitute or substituted player standing outside the fi eld of play throws
an object at an opponent standing inside the fi eld of play, the referee
restarts play with an indirect free kick to the opposing team, taken from the
position in which the ball was located when play was stopped
(see Law 13 ? Position of Free Kick)



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Tony, your situation is active play, and a player spits form the field of play at a person off the field of play. Because the misconduct happened off the field of play the restart cannot be a direct free kick. But because you stopped play for misconduct it becomes a technical foul, thus an indirect free kick. It is taken from where the ball was when you stopped play.
Caution or send off, still indirect. It is irrelevant for the purpose of restart whether he was spitting at an opponent, a sub, a spectator or an A/R. Needless to say he is tossage and hopefully gets banned for a long time.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

For the restart, we use the same rules for striking by throwing the ball (quoted by Ref Contarino). The referee report, however, indicates the sendoff is for spitting, not violent conduct.




Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 21633
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 29842

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>