Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22106

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/29/2009

RE: Competive Adult

Shaun Pritchard of Wolverhampton, West Midlands asks...

If the defending team have a free-kick inside there own area, does the ball have to leave the penalty box before another player can touch the ball (like a goal-lick)?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes, although this is perhaps one of the least known parts of the Laws. I'm not sure why, because the wording in Law 13 and Law 16 is the same. '? The ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area'



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Directly means no one can touch the ball after it is kicked until it leaves the penalty area (the whole ball is outside the penalty area). So if an attacker runs in early, we retake the kick. If a defender 'helps' it out of the penalty area, we retake it.

It is exactly the same procedure for a free kick as a goal kick in this regard.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Shaun, I am not sure what a goal-lick is but if it an adult player licks the ball inside the penalty area after the defenders have taken a free kick, it is a retake. Actually the ball must go outside the penalty area on any kick by the defenders in their penalty area, meaning onto the field of play, before the ball is play. In addition, all attackers must stay outside the area till this happens, otherwise it is a retake. It is the same thing as a goal-lick, I mean goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Shaun
Surprising the number of players that are not aware of this rule. I have asked for a retake on two indirect free kicks for offside that did not leave the penalty area in the last 3 months and I have gotten the reply on both occasions 'But ref its not a goal kick'.
Ref Voshol and Maloney have quoted the relevant laws with examples.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22106
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>