Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22110

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/29/2009

RE: Competive (High School) Under 16

Zak Hallett of Milton, Wisconsin United States asks...

I am a goalie, and in our last game the referee called a free kick and raised his hand straight up singaling an Indirect Free Kick. I don't know the full reason of why it was called because I honestly didn't see anything worthy of an Indirect Free Kick happen. But when the kick was taken (from roughly 10 yards outside of the big 18yard box) it went straight into the goal without any player including myself touching it, and the referee counted it as a goal against us. This goal put the other team in the lead and caused them to beat us. I told the referee that he had indicated an indirect free kick and that the goal was scored directly which was unfair because I was not expecting a shot and therefor was not able to save it from going in. The referee simply told me to not challenge a referee and wouldn't tell me why the call was made, and refused to not count the goal. Now that I have explained what happen, here is my question, Is there any time that a goal can be scored off of an INDIRECT Free Kick when it has not touched anybody (including the goalie)?

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

An indirect free kick MUST touch another player before entering the goal for a goal to be counted (including the keeper). In your case, a goal kick should've been awarded.

It's possible that the referee thought it touched somebody on the way into the goal though.

It's a shame the referee wouldn't offer a reason for his decision, but some referees do get taught not to discuss anything at all. For me, it depends how I'm approached. If I'm being yelled at or the player is approaching me in an aggressive manner I probably won't speak to him. If I'm asked a question respectfully then I'll try to answer.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

By definition, at the taking of an indirect free kick, a goal may not be scored until the ball touches a second player.
Shame on the referee if you politely asked for an interpretation and he refused.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Please have your school AD report this incident. If it was in a match under FIFA Laws of the Game, it would be considered misapplication of the Laws and the game should be replayed. I'm not sure if that option is available in HS games, but at least the assignor should be made aware of the referee's mistake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Zak
I would come at this from a slightly different angle. The award of a indirect free kick in a goal scoring position does not happen very often and probably more than likely for dangerous play without contact. I really can't remember the last IDFK I awarded in such a position so my advice to goalkeepers is assume every free kick is direct and to seek clarification from the ref if its indirect other than to rely solely on the signal. A pleasant call to the ref "Indirect Ref??" will elicit a reply. I would call out loudly 'Indirect' as well as raising my hand for the IDFK signal in a goal scoring position. It is also helpful to the attacking team to know it is indirect.
Refs should do their upmost to prevent issue arising but despite our best efforts incidents such as this happen for whatever reason. Last season I awarded a direct free kick for a contact foul in a scoring situation and I was asked by the defence whether it required the whistle for the free kick to be taken. I agreed that it would and I showed the whistle to the wall as they retreated. I had no reason to believe anything was wrong and then just as the FK was about to be taken the keeper called 'Indirect' and then made no effort to save the ball. He then suggested to me that I raised my hand to indicate an IDFK, which I assume was the showing of the whistle. I awarded the goal and I explained the situation to him.
He asked me again about it at the end of the game and I asked him when was the last indirect free kick that he had to deal with and he struggled for an answer.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

The defense has no rights on a free kick other than not to be misled by the referee. In this case, the referee made two mistakes: first by signaling for an indirect free kick and second, by refusing to acknowledge his mistake and ordering the kick retaken. I'm sorry it cost your team a goal.

Last year in an MLS match, a referee intended to indicate 'wait for the whistle' but then raised the hand holding the whistle above his head. Players thought this was an IFK indication. A goal was scored and the team complained. USSF responded with a new directive for referees to raise the whistle to no higher than face height when indicating 'wait for the whistle.' While not binding on high school, I bet your referee didn't get the memo.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22110
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>