Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22210

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/11/2009

RE: Professional Professional

jason brookes of southampton, hampshire england asks...

Hi, one of my team mates started a debate about if a corner is taken and no one touches it appart from a defender and goes straight in like a normal own goal, my team mate suggested that it would then be a retake of the corner. what would happen?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Can't imagine why your teammate would think it would be a retake of the corner?

The Laws provide that teams cannot score against themselves on restarts such as free kicks (including PKs), goal kicks, or corner kicks. Like Ref McHugh, it is hard to imagine putting the ball into your own goal from a corner kick - heck, it's the whole football field away! That's one heckuva squib kick.

A properly taken corner doesn't have to touch anyone on the way in to score (assuming it doesn't go into your own goal). The ball can touch a teammate or an opponent or even the referee on its way into the goal and still be a goal. The only exception to this would be if a teammate is in an offside position, and plays the ball after it is first played after the kick by another teammate. He would then be offside, and no goal.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jason
An own goal cannot be scored directly from a corner kick. I have never witnessed it as it would require a player kicking the ball the full length of the pitch into the taker's goal without it touching anyone, which would be quite a feat. The restart would be a corner kick to the opponents and not a retake.
If the ball touches any player on the way into the goal such as the goalkeeper or a defender then the goal would stand.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22210
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>