- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 22210Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/11/2009RE: Professional Professional jason brookes of southampton, hampshire england asks...Hi, one of my team mates started a debate about if a corner is taken and no one touches it appart from a defender and goes straight in like a normal own goal, my team mate suggested that it would then be a retake of the corner. what would happen? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Can't imagine why your teammate would think it would be a retake of the corner? The Laws provide that teams cannot score against themselves on restarts such as free kicks (including PKs), goal kicks, or corner kicks. Like Ref McHugh, it is hard to imagine putting the ball into your own goal from a corner kick - heck, it's the whole football field away! That's one heckuva squib kick. A properly taken corner doesn't have to touch anyone on the way in to score (assuming it doesn't go into your own goal). The ball can touch a teammate or an opponent or even the referee on its way into the goal and still be a goal. The only exception to this would be if a teammate is in an offside position, and plays the ball after it is first played after the kick by another teammate. He would then be offside, and no goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Jason An own goal cannot be scored directly from a corner kick. I have never witnessed it as it would require a player kicking the ball the full length of the pitch into the taker's goal without it touching anyone, which would be quite a feat. The restart would be a corner kick to the opponents and not a retake. If the ball touches any player on the way into the goal such as the goalkeeper or a defender then the goal would stand.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22210
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|