Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22366

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/26/2009

RE: select Under 10

jay samples of chatt, tn usa asks...

if an offensive player crosses the line before a free kick is made what should the ruling be?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Your question makes the reply very difficult. In general the only lines that players cannot pass before a kick is made is the kick off where players must be in their own half. If they enter the other half the kick off is retaken.
The other line is the penalty area on a penalty kick. If a teammate of the kicker enters the penalty area before the kick is taken, the penalty is retaken if a goal is scored. If the penalty is saved and the ball rebounds the referee awards an Indirect free kick to the defense from where the offensive player entered the penalty area. If player from both teams enter the penalty area before the kick is taken the penalty is retaken irrespective of the outcome.
The only other one that I can think of is where a player is off the field of play for treatment of an injury. If he enters before the kick is taken the player is cautioned. The referee can play advantage or if he stops play to caution the player who re-enters without permission the restart is an indirect free kick from where play was stopped or he can award a direct free kick if the player infringes Law 12 such as a handball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

On a free kick, there is no restriction on the location of attacking player except for kickoffs and penalty kicks.

On a kickoff, the referee should require a retake of the kick if the infringement is not trifling. It is common, however, for someone to straddle the line and this is often ignored as trifling.

Ref McHug has given the two alternatives on encroachment during a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22366
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>