Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22382

Law 13 - Free Kicks 10/28/2009

Steve of fall river, ma usa asks...

Does the ball have to leave the area on every free kick?
Example: Offside is called in the area and a player plays the ball to a teammate who is also in the area.
Or, my goal makes a save and he roles the ball to me and I am in the area.
Are these two plays legal?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Example 1 - this is a restart and falls under free kicks, Law 13:
-----------------
Free Kick Inside the Penalty Area
Direct or indirect free kick to the defending team:
? all opponents must be at least 9.15 m (10 yds) from the ball
? all opponents must remain outside the penalty area until the ball is in play
? the ball is in play when it is kicked directly out of the penalty area
? a free kick awarded in the goal area may be taken from any point inside that area
----------------------
Note the 3rd bullet point. The free kick in your example has not been put into play and must be retaken.

Example 2 - this is not a restart. The ball was never out of play. So there is no restriction on where the teammate may receive the ball from the goalkeeper (except for offside considerations at the other end of the field).



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
Referee Voshol has quoted the law.
Any restart inside the penalty area (free kick and goal kick) has to leave the penalty area to be in play. If it does not then the restart is retaken.
As regards the save that is not a restart but normal open play and the ball does not have to leave the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

One of the myths of the game is that the requirements are limited to goal kick. Law 13, however, tells us that they are required for all free kicks for the defense from inside the penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22382
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>