- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 22497Law 13 - Free Kicks 11/11/2009RE: Rec. Under 15 joe of st clair shores, mi usa asks...On a indirect kick inside your penalty box, does the ball have to leave the box to be playable, or just like a goalkick, it has to come out ? Also what is the purpose for the penalty box arc? Thanks Joe. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol All outbound free kicks, direct or indirect, taken from within a team's own penalty area must exit the penalty area into the field before the ball is in play. No other player can touch the ball until it is in play. All players except the kicker and keeper must be at least 10 yards from the ball until it is kicked at a penalty kick. The penalty arc shows where 10 yards is.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham Law 13 applies to all kicks by the defense from inside the penalty area. The ball is not in play (and may not be touched) until it leaves the area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham
View Referee Dennis Wickham profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Joe On any restart inside the penalty area the ball must leave the area to be in play. If it does not leave the area or it is touched by either team inside the penalty area the kick is retaken. Surprising the number of player that don't know that. As Referee Voshol states the penalty arc is there to assist player and referee to maintain 10 yards from the penalty taker until the ball is kicked.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22497
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|