- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 22672Law 13 - Free Kicks 12/26/2009RE: Competitive Under 15 Yuri of Valley, Nova Scotia Canada asks...We had a free kick in our own half, my player kicked the ball when in was in motion. The player did not touch it a second time where it would be an indirect kick for the opposing team. The ref awarded the other team a free kick, I thought it should have been retaken. Just looking for the correct start of play procedure. Thanks Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Law 13 says, 'For both direct and indirect free kicks, the ball must be stationary when the kick is taken and the kicker must not touch the ball again until it has touched another player.' There is no direct mention of what happens if the ball is moving. All infringements mentioned in Law 13 which result in a free kick for the other side happen after the ball has been put into play. Since the ball was not stationary, it was not properly put into play. Therefore the free kick must be retaken.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino It sounds as though play has not been properly restarted, nor was the free kick taken properly in the first place. So, based on your description this should be a retaken kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Was the ball momentarily stationary? Did the ball get kicked towards the spot of the infraction? This is why foot repositioning the ball can create issues. If the ball was say close to the correct position and it was subsequently tapped just a bit more forward and then kicked a referee could choose to see to as a double touch and an INDFK in favor of the opposition is the correct restart. Of course if the ball was a free kick from inside the penalty area it will be retake no matter what, as the ball is NOT in play until it travels beyond the boundaries into play! A moving ball violates the free kick restart principle and is a retake as the ball was not put properly in play! One generally verbally warns a transgression the 1st time but if blatantly obvious as a delaying tactic not so lenient one could be cautioned for delaying the restart. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Yuri Context is also important in these situations as well as mechanics. You do not mention the context. What did the ref see here?. Did he see a ball kicked a short distance as an attempt to put it in play and then kicked again in which case it is an indirect free kick. If the ball is moving having been thrown down or kicked by a team mate to that position and the player just kicked it then it is a retake. In recent times many teams have adopted ruses on restart such as putting the ball into play in such a way that the opponents are not aware of that such as a small kick. As a result refs are now conscious of the ball being put into play. I suggest that the player shows without doubt that the ball is indeed not in play by either placing the ball by hand or stopping the ball with the foot in the correct position for the free kick. The referee will then be in no doubt
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22672
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|