Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 22997

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/24/2010

RE: Select Under 15

Kushal of Irvine, CA USA asks...

DFK Awarded just outside the penalty area near the touch line. Blue defender standing 10 yards away, but runs up towards the ball before the kick is taken. Goalkeeper collects the ball, referee stops the games, duly cautions the blue defender for failing to respect the distance, and restarts with a drop ball to the keeper.

Was that the correct restart? I thought it should have been an IFK inside the penalty area to the attacking team, or should the DFK be retaken?

Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Referee Kushal
Fundamental error by the referee in this case by restarting with a dropped ball. The correct restart is a retake of the DFK. The reason for this is that the encroachment happened before the ball was put into play so the referee is entitled to caution the defender and restart play again with the original free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

If the referee determined that the defender committed misconduct before the kick was taken and decided to stop play, the kick should have been retaken.

If the referee determined (I'm not sure how) that the defender committed misconduct after the kick was taken, the restart should have been an indirect free kick where the misconduct occurred.

A caution and drop ball to the keeper seems to be a referee making something up. The referee should have followed the USSF Directive on Free Kick and Restart Management available at http://www.ussoccer.com/Referees/Referee-Development/Directives.aspx .



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Kushal, you have to ask yourself was the ball ever put into play. Since it wasn't then you MUST restart with the original action which in this case was a DFK. No way this should have been a dropped ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 22997
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 23034

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>