Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 23059

Law 13 - Free Kicks 4/3/2010

RE: High School High School

Howard Bacon of Savannah, GA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 22811

Following on this question, had a similar incident. IFK 5 yards back of the penalty line by attacking team. Player A taps the ball, no movement, Player B then immediately after kicks and the ball goes over the goal. Based on my understanding of Law 13, the ball was in play when moved and while not touched a second time, went out of play and I awarded a goal kick to the defending team. I've been challenged by associates that this was not the correct call (was in a heatedly contested match between HS rivals) believing the ball was never in play. Can you provide clarification??? Thanks

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

Although the referee must decide if the ball was put in play by the first or the second touch of the ball, the ball in this situation was put in play by one of the two, and neither kicker touched it twice in a row. You made the correct decision - - goal kick.

But, silence sets up the situation for trouble in the future. As you run past the initial kicker, remind her that the tap of the ball did not put the ball into play and that you are watching to see if the ball is kicked and moved. That can pay dividends when the team repeats the set play, but this time the ball enters the goal.




Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Referee Bacon
Either way the ball was put into play and you made the correct decision with the restart of a goal kick. The much bigger decision would have been if it entered the goal to either allow the goal or restart with a goal kick.
Also why would the referee give the attack a second chance to score ??
The tap with no movement would mean that it was not in play and therefore a goal could not be scored directly from an IDFK.
The referee is the judge of whether the ball moved or not in compliance with the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. That happened on one of the touches; you decided the second one.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ref Howard, I'm a little baffled by the failure of USSF referees to not know the difference between the ball being put into play and the ball being allowed to score a goal. This is high school and NFHS rules state the ball shall be moved in any direction to be in play. So it MUST move. USSF is even more specific when they state tapping the ball on the top does NOT constitute kicked and moved and that the ball must go 'from here to there.' So, of COURSE the ball was put into play by the kicker that shot the ball over the net. Since Indirect, it couldn't score directly but definitely the ball was in play. I know it's hot and humid in Savannah but no more than here in Atlanta so we can't blame the heat for this inability of our fellow referees to understand a simple concept. Come to think of it, there are many referees around here that would make them take the kick over as it "was never in play" which is ridiculous and something every Grade 9 should know cold. Maybe the sun does affect us all. You were correct in your decision and you should educate your fellow referees as to what in play means



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 23059
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 23492

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>