- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 26190Law 3 - Number of Players 4/16/2012RE: Competitve Under 18 Michael Green of Scarsdale, NY USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 15094 Team A had a player sent off in the first half with a Red Card and was playing one man down. During the second half, an 11th player for Team A entered the field (with permission of the ref. who must have lost track of how many players were on the field.) During this short period of time, Team A scored a goal. What should the ruling be? Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Michael A very serious error by the referee. If play has not restarted then the goal should be disallowed and the restart in the US is a goal kick. Elsewhere an IDFK to the 'conceding' team is awarded inside the goal area. If play has already restarted with a kick off then the goal must stand, the referee corrects the error of the extra player by seeing that he leaves the field of play and the matter is reported to the competition authority. If the referee has to stop play to deal with the extra player the restart is an IDFK from where the ball was when play was stopped. Otherwise if play has already stopped the normal restart applies that is a throw in, goal kick, corner kick, etc.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol In addition to Ref McHugh's response, since the referee allowed the incorrect number of players, there is no misconduct. If an 11th player had snuck on without the ref's knowledge, that player would be cautioned when found out.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26190
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - Number of Players
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|