- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 30207Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/20/2016RE: Observer Adult Michael of Indianapolis, IN USA asks...Watching a match recently I observed where a Striker attempts a goal within the penalty area and the defenders appear to turn their bodies away from the shot, as opposed to making an attempt to block the shot. Are the adverse consequences if the defenders are hit on the arm or hand, as opposed to the body, by the ball when in the penalty zone? What about the attackers in the penalty zone? Thanks! M Puckett Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright Hi Michael, Among other things, referees need to consider the position of the arm in determining whether deliberate handling has occurred. In essence, was the arm in a natural position or not? If the back is turned with the arms tucked into the side of the body, then it's a natural position, thus accidental. If the back is turned and the arms are out from the side of the body then it's an unnatural position, so even without seeing the ball it's likely to be deliberate handling.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Michael For handling to be called it must be deliberate. Now players that turn their back do not know for certain where the ball is going so there is a question mark over the deliberate element of any contact. The reason I say a question mark is that when players has their arms in an unnatural position, making themselves bigger then the referee may deem that to be a deliberate handling action even if the player may not know where the ball is going. My view is that I rarely give handling when the ball strikes a player with his back turned and his arms by his side unless there is a deliberate attempt to stop the ball at all cost with raised and /or outstretched arms. In this example the player dies not make herself bigger and it is not deliberate. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=CUASGLxFPoY&t=1m39s Another referee may have a lower threshold of what is deliberate. When you asked the question this incident came to mind. Have a look at this https://m.youtube.com/watch?t=2m50s&v=YOsbmyy2Ynk Should this have been a penalty? Many including myself believe yes as the player had his arms raised making himself bigger. It caused quite a stir at the time, along with six other decision in the game. as it was a huge decision in the game context so near the end. The referee did not give it and he deemed that it was not a deliberate action. I think even Yellow 9 thought it was a penalty as he looked yo the referee after the player struck his raised arm. On your comment about attackers in the area I would assume you mean does the same criteria apply and the answer is yes. An attacker trying to block a defending clearance in the same manner would be treated similarly.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30207
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|