Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 30212

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/22/2016

RE: Adult

Jason McGovern of Bangkok, Thailand asks...

If a foul starts outside the penalty area, but the player retains control of the ball, and a second foul takes place within the penalty area, is it a PENALTY, or a FREE KICK.

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Jason,

It would be a penalty kick. It's like holding - if it begins outside the Penalty Area and continues inside, it's a Penalty Kick.

This is basically an application of advantage. It's most advantageous to consider play as having continued from the first foul and a penalty kick awarded.

What's tricky is when, say, an attacker is still stumbling from the first foul into the penalty area and is then knocked over - that touch that knocks him over might not be a foul; it might just be that the player was off balance.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Jason,

If an advantage was given for the first foul which apparently is the case in the situation you described, a penalty kick would be awarded if the second foul was called. Obviously, an advantage could be given on the second foul as the attacker could continue to the goal. However, if there was no advantage and the game was stopped for the foul, a penalty kick would be awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Jason
Very simply the referee either plays advantage on the first foul or he adopts a wait and see approach. As a result the referee can call the second foul which is to award the penalty kick restart.
I might also say that if it was all one foul such as holding with part of the foul outside the penalty area and part inside then a penalty kick must be awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

Hello Jason,
there are different foul scenarios but if a player is actually fouled twice, as long as no whistle was sounded to stop play and the 2nd foul occurs inside the opposition PA award the PK as it is the greatest advantage.

The difficulty is if the 1st foul is a point of contact foul and it creates a uncontrolled falling into the PA where some additional contact is made but the 1st foul was ALWAYS putting the player on the deck! That is a DFK outside even if there might be misconduct with the additional contact inside. As long as you are certain the player was going down and not prevented from having a shot.

IF you have any solid reason to award the PK as the best choice, do so. I recall awarding a DFK outside the PK but I cautioned 2 players. I cautioned the defender who tripped him outside and the defender who slid into him inside. Rather then being pleased with a DFK and having two opposing players cautioned they STILL wanted a PK for the slide contact inside although the player was already on the ground from the 1st foul! Sigh.
A foul such as holding is often referred to as a continuous foul where a stretchy shirt and exceptional balance will take a player who was being fouled outside to inside the PA for a PK instead of the DFK.

I prefer the wait and see rather than a verbal advantage when in about the PA but that choice as a referee tactic is up to the CR!

from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30212
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>