- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 30228Law 14 - Penalty kick 3/30/2016RE: B Award Under 17 Mr G J Squire of Exeter, Devon UK asks...A penalty has been awarded, the player steps up a take his shot in the correct manner. The ball from the initial shot hits the base of the goal post without any goal keeper involvement and returns to the penalty taker who then shoots again and scores. Is it a goal? Answer provided by Referee MrRef Hello Mr. Squire, NO goal! The defending team is awarded an INDFK out from the point of the 2nd touch by the PK kicker! If the keeper had made ANY contact with the ball at all, as in tipping it to the corner of the post , if this was a free play PK, then the PK kicker could have participated. Another player from either team MUST make ball contact before a PK kicker can replay the ball. If this was an extended pk or KFTPM then no one except the keeper has any chance to play the ball. from our pitch to your pitch in the spirit of fair play
Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef
View Referee MrRef profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi No this is not a goal. The kicker has played the ball for a second time without it touching another player. That is a technical double touch infringement and the restart is an IDFK from where the second touch took place. Personally I dont like it as a Law yet that is the way it is. A player cannot play the ball twice at any restart without it being played / touched by another player. The reason I do not like it is that it is never intentional and a player would struggle to do it if he tried. I once had a player kick a corner kick and it rebounded from the front post back to the kicker who played it for a second time. It was a natural reaction to play the ball again. The opponents did not pick it up yet it was a double touch with an IDFK restart.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Jason Wright As the kicker has touched the ball a second time before any other player has touched it, there's no goal and it is an IFK to the defending team from where the kicker touched it. If, however, the keeper got a fingertip on it, then it's a good goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30228
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|