Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 30278

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/12/2016

RE: competive High School

Omar of Oak Creek, Wisconsin USA asks...

A goalkeeper punt the ball, the ball went up in the air but didn't leave the 18 yard area, the goalkeeper catches it again.
what is the rolling?
thanks.

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Omar
The laws / rules make no provision for mistakes. As the ball has been released by the goalkeeper he is restricted from touching it again with his hands unless it is touched / played by another player. As that did not happen here it is an IDFK to the opponent from where he touched the ball with his hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Omar, if the referee views this as a release of ball possession and the 6 seconds used up and he has not considered this as a high toss up bounce then the keeper is restricted from a second touch using his hands . He could have re-kicked it or headed it but it is an INDFK for illegal use of the hands inside the penalty area from where he reacquires the ball subject to the special circumstances within the goal area of course. Another player off either team must make contact with the released ball BEFORE a keeper can reuse his hands .
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe Manjone

Omar,
This is covered in the last sentence of rule 12-7-1 on page 55 of the NFHS Rules book titled Restrictions on Goalkeepers which states: ' Once the ball has been released into play, the goalkeeper may not touch it again with the hands until it has been played or touched by another player of the same team outside of the penalty area, or by a player of the opposing team either inside or outside the penalty area. The penalty for this illegal touching by the goalkeeper is an indirect kick from the spot of the violation unless the violation occurs in the goal area and then it would be moved to the nearest point on the goal area line. I hope that you are having a successful season.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe Manjone

View Referee Joe Manjone profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 30278
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 30283

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>