- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 33153Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/16/2019RE: Competitive Under 15 Eric Miller of Albany, NY USA asks...After the goalkeeper makes a save inside the penalty box, he throws the ball to his teammate and the ball hits his teammate's hand inside the penalty box. Is this a direct kick (penalty) for the opposing team, or an Indirect kick for the opposing team? Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright Hi Eric, The relevant offence would be Deliberately Handling the Ball. This can never be an indirect free kick (keeper's double handling or handling off a deliberate kick to them/throw-in to them by a teammate is a different offence). The referee needs to judge whether the handling was deliberate. For instance, arms down by the side, not even watching and it strikes the arm? This would be accidental, no foul.
Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright
View Referee Jason Wright profileAnswer provided by Referee Peter Grove Hi Eric, It's not necessarily a free kick at all. There would only be an offence if the referee judges that the ball was handled deliberately. It's difficult to tell from the limited information in your description but under the current handball law which includes a consideration about whether it was a case of ball to hand or hand to ball, this sounds like it could easily be seen as a case of accidental handling, which is not an offence and so no kind of free kick or penalty would result. As you may be aware, the law on handling is about to change soon and some instances of accidental handling will be penalised but even under the new law, accidental handling by a player inside their own penalty area would almost certainly not be penalised.
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Eric From what you describe the answer depends on whether the action of the defender was deliberate handling or not. If the ball simply struck the arm of the defender accidentally then it is play on with no offence. However if the defender deliberately played or controlled the ball with his arm then that is a penal offence punished by a direct free kick or penalty kick if the offence happened inside the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Eric, based on your description most likely, play on ! If the ball was deflected to an opponent, a spot of fortune for them, as an accidental handling INSIDE your OWN PA is not an advantage for you but the opposition & the fact a goal scoring opportunity could result is tough luck. Whereas at the other end should an accidental handling by you be in your favor would take that as a foul so you could not gain any advantage. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33153
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|