- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 35973Law 1- The Field 7/26/2025RE: Rec Under 13 Laura of Frederick, MD USA asks...Our coach was carded for coaching down by the goal. What law explains where the coach may stand during a game? Thanks! Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Laura Thanks for the question Law 1 sets out the use of technical areas which is generally a seated area for coaches and substitutes / substituted players which they must remain in for the duration of the game . Substitutes may leave the area to warm up. Occupants of the technical areas must behave in a responsible manner and Law 12 sets out sanctions for misconduct while in the technical areas
Those in the technical areas are required to remain in that area during play other than warming up by substitutes or a physio beckoned on to the field of play by a referee to deal with an injured player. Law 12 states that it is a. cautionable offences to clearly / persistently not respect the confines of a team’s technical area.
So a coach who is down at the goal area has clearly left the confines of the technical area. Generally a referee might ask a coach to return to the area and a repeat would garner a card. Sometimes the manner of how a coach deals with that request might draw an immediate sanction particularly if the coach was not respectful or dissented the request.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35973
Read other Q & A regarding Law 1- The Field
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|