- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 9333Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct RE: 1A - 2A boys highschool play off High School Lionel Heinold of EPHRATA, Washington usa asks...During the 20th minute Team A possessed the ball outside of Team B's penalty area. A hard shot was taken at the goal. Team B's keeper dropped to his knees and the ball struck him in the chest and rebounded several feet in front of him. A-1 who had taken the shot had followed the ball and kicked it at the goal. The ball struck the keeper and in A-1's follow through he kicked the keeper in the head. The ball rebounded and player A-2 who was trailing the play put the ball in the net. ..I was the AR on Team B's end of the field. The center referee and I agreed on what had happened. The coach for Team B objected to the goal because he felt that his keeper was fouled before the goal. The referee and I conferred while the coach for Team B administered aid to his keeper. We decided to allow the goal for two reasons; (1) the keeper did not have possession of the ball, and (2) the keeper, by going to his knees, had put his body where peoples feet were, and thus he was playing in a dangerous manner. Was our decision correct? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You were there, you saw what happened, you made the decision to allow the goal. That said, it seems to me that the keeper's dropping to his knees is normal and customary for keeper play. I don't see how this is playing in a dangerous manner. If you felt that A-1 had fouled the keeper by kicking him in the head, then there should be no goal. If you believed the keeper was playing in a dangerous manner, then you give advantage and the goal is good.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer No foul play here because the keeper played the ball but did not hold it. He continued to make a play for the ball and suffered a bit of a knock when his opponent played the shot he had available to him. If the referee saw any foul play he would have either played the advantage and given a goal or stopped play for kicking or attempting to kick... Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 9333
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 14934
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|