Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 111

Law 14 - Penalty kick

RE: Recreation Under 10

Wayne of Fullerton, CA U.S. asks...

During a penalty kick, may the goalie move side to side along the goal line prior to the shooter touching the ball.

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

Law 14 simply states that the goalkeeper must "remain on the goal line, facing the kicker, and between the goalposts until the ball has been kicked." This means the goalkeeper can move laterally on the goal line but may not move forward off the goal line until the shooter touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

If the keeper does move off the line and the ball does not go in the goal, the kick shall be retaken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

I guess I would also like to add that this rule changed only in the last couple of years. Prior to 1997 or so, the goalkeeper was not allowed to move side to side. If you seemed to remember that even moving side was illegal, this is probably why.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 111
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14363

See Question: 18862

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>