- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14447Law 15 - Throw In 11/15/2006RE: AYSO Under 12 Dave Huhman of Lancaster, CA USA asks...Sometimes a throw in will go down the touch line and curve or be blown out before completely entering the field. On a throw in, does the ball have to completely cross the touch line to be considered "in play", or is it enough for any part of the ball to cross the outer part of the line? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Dave, No! outer edge of ball contacts outer edge of touchline ball is in play. partial contact or completely over the line either way ball is in play. cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Ref Dawson is right... Just like the ball in play, any part touching the extended plane of the line keeps it in play and the same criteria exist for being returned to play from throw-in.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The ball is in play as soon as any part of the ball crosses over the outter edge of touch line.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14447
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 14833
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|