Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14567

Law 14 - Penalty kick 12/9/2006

RE: Competitive Under 16

Ravi of Cupertino, CA Santa Clara asks...

This question is a follow up to question 1001

In a penalty kick, if the goalie blocks the kick but the boy who took the penalty kick rushes forward and kicks the rebound from the goalie into the goal. Is that considered a valid goal? Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ravi,
if the pk is a regular Pk during the match then a rebound of the ball off keeper maybe kicked by the pk kicker again as it fullfills the requirement the ball must touch another player before the pk kicker may play the ball again (the keeper qualifies as another player ).

The ball can not come back directly off the post or crossbar unless the ball also contacts the keeper. A combination of the ball ping ponging off all three is fine! As long as the human component figures in to the equation, key point is the ball MUST contact the keeper or any other player before the pk kicker is allowed to play the ball again

If the PK is an extended time PK where no time remains in the half ! or in KFTPM when full time has finished to determine a winner then no rebound of any kind can be played as no other player can participate! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes. The kicker is free to touch ball once it touches another player. If it would have deflected off cross bar or goal post, then answer would be no.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yup. Ball must be touched by "any other player" before the kicker may kick again. The keper counts. Had the ball rebounded from the goal posts or crossbar and the kicker kicked it again, it would be an IFK for keeper's team



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14567
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14896

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>