- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14896Law 14 - Penalty kick 2/25/2007RE: Rec Under 15 Gerard of San Antonio, Texas USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 14567 A player takes a PK and the goalie stops the initial kick but the rebound comes off the goalie and the player taking the PK kicks it in for a goal but no defenders entered the penalty area. Should this not be considered offsides? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Offside, one "s" in the word in the middle, none at the end. OK, I'm picky.
Offside cannot apply at the proper taking of a penalty kick. That is because all players are required to line up in positions that are even with or behind the ball. At the time of the kick there is nobody in an offside position, so there can be no offside offense.
Secondly in your scenario, the PK taker recovers the rebound from the goalkeeper. Since offside requires a teammate, that's another reason for no call here.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Gerard, as my colleague has explained no offside is possible as the ball is ahead of all the pk kickers teammates (closer to the opposing goalline) including the pk kicker himself when the ball is last touched. The rebound off a PK is available to any teammate who did not encroach whether it hits the keeper or the woodwork.
HOWEVER< the pk kicker although not offside cannot play the ball UNLESS that ball makes contact with the keeper because in law the kicker cannot play the ball a second time unless it contacts another player off either team. So if the ball hit the post or crossbar and deflected back to the pk kicker while not offside, if he plays the ball it is a SECOND Touch and a loss of posession with an INFK out! I tell you this because those watching see this and confuse the two totally DIFFERENT suituations!
If, after the penalty kick has been taken: The kicker touches the ball a second time (except with his hands) before it has touched another player: an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No way! The player was not closer to goalline than ball and the ball was received by the keeper NOT a TEAMMATE. Remember to be offside, the player must be in an offside position and BECOME INVOLVED IN PLAY AT THE MOMENT TEAMMATE TOUCHES BALL.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Gerard!! How can the kicker be offside on himself? Offside is ONLY judges at the moment the ball is played or touched by a teammate. On our main page there is an excellent synopsis of offside written by Ref Fleischer. It is concise and easy to understand.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14896
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|