Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14620

Law 13 - Free Kicks 12/20/2006

RE: Rec Under 11

David Bogosian of Glendale, CA USA asks...

Is there a requirement that a first touch on an IFK cause the ball to move? Or is it sufficient that one player simply taps the ball with his toe (e.g., from the top, so that it does not move at all) and then a second player takes a shot at the goal?

Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

David, YES
the law states on a free kick the ball is in play when it is kicked and moves. Note: kicked not stepped on and moved, as opposed to does not move at all. The circumfrence of the ball is no longer at issue nowadays but the referee must see the act as a kick and there must be discernable movement . While it will be in the opinion of the referee if the step on top of the ball provides a roll back push off the sole of the foot and I can see the ball is in fact kicked into motion as opposed to being squashed slightly the restart in law has fullfilled the minimum requirements. Also consider that if the ball is placed on the spot of the infringment in preperation for the restart with the foot at what point is placing the bal into position and removing the foot off the ball or replacing the foot on the ball decree a second touch or successful restart ? cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Jim Allen's site answered this for referees in the USSF. ( http://www.drix.net/jim/past054.html ) Scroll down to the November 14, 2005 answer. He notes that the ball must be kicked - not just touched or dragged - and that "moves" means "from here to there". The ball must occupy a different space than where it started.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This has been talked and written about since the requirement to travel the distance if its circumference for the ball to be in play was removed from Law XIII. It has gone back and fourth but as of 14th November 2005 US Soccer thinks this way:

Quote from Jim Allen, National Instructor Staff [http://www.drix.net/jim/past054.html]

The first requirement of any kick restart (free kick, penalty kick, corner kick, goal kick) is that the ball be "kicked," rather than merely touched or dragged with the foot, to be considered as "kicked." The foot must be used, no other body part. The second requirement is that the foot must cause the ball to "move" to another place. In other words, as a result of the action of the foot, the ball goes from here to there. A simple tap on the top of the ball, even though it may cause the ball to quiver, tremble, or shake, that does not make that ball move to a new space, is not a kick. Nor is putting one's foot on the ball and dragging or rolling it to a new space considered to be a kick.

Such simple concepts "kick" and "move" but difficult to define without being complex, technical, or obscure. The referee has to make the final decision on what is a "kick" and what is "not a kick." This must be based on his or her feeling for the game, what FIFA calls "Fingerspitzengefuehl." [Intuitive feeling, Ed.] The bottom line is that not everything that produces movement of the ball is a kick and thus would not legally put the ball into play in any of the kicking restarts.

End Quote



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

The ball must move from a point to another point. If it just moves straight up and comes back down, that is not good enough. The ball has not yet moved and is not in play. I especially see players doing the drag thing on a kick off which should be a rekick as ball was not put in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14620
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14627

See Question: 14631

See Question: 15247

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>