Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14627

Law 13 - Free Kicks 12/23/2006

RE: Rec Under 11

David Bogosian of Glendale, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 14620

Thank you for those comments [14620], they are very helpful. Now let me take the scenario one step further. Say player 1 has committed a tap that does not, in my opinion, constitute a "kick that makes the ball move from here to there." Should I blow the whistle at this point, or should I just keep the hand raised and count the next kick as the first real kick and let play continue?

And what if my reactions aren't quick enough, and the second kick (but legally the first kick) ends up in the net before I can reach for the whistle? What should be the restart, retake the IFK? Or what if the shot missed and went over the goal line, should that also be a retake of the IFK?

Thank you again, and merry Christmas.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Advice to Referees 13.5 says, in part, "The referee must judge carefully whether any particular kick of the ball and subsequent movement was indeed reasonably taken with the intention of putting the ball into play rahter than with the intention merely to position the ball for the restart. If the ball is just being repositioned (even if the foot is used to do this), play has not been restarted."

Since play was not restarted by the tap/wobble/etc. it would be the next kick that puts the ball into play. You should then continue to hold the IFK signal until there is a real second touch of the ball.

There is no legal or illegal way to take an IFK that differs from a DFK. Players may elect to take the short kick so that the second touch is within inches of the spot of the initial kick. Or they may blast it down the field.

So, what if there is no second touch and the ball goes out of play?

Was the ball in play? Yes, because it was kicked and moved.

How do we deal with a ball that was kicked out of play? If it went over the touch line, it is a throw-in for the opposite team. If it went over your own end line, it is a corner kick for the other team. If it went over the opponent's end line, it is a goal kick for the other team.

What if it went in goal? Law 16 says, "A goal kick is awarded when: ? the whole of the ball, having last touched a player of the attacking team, passes over the goal line, either on the ground or in the air, and a goal is not scored in accordance with Law 10." Law 17 says, "A corner kick is awarded when: ? the whole of the ball, having last touched a player of the defending team, passes over the goal line, either on the ground or in the air, and a goal is not scored in accordance with Law 10." Notice both have the same wording, "and a goal is not scored". Since the kick was indirect, the ball going into the goal did not score a goal. So the restart is either a goal kick or corner kick, depending on which end of the field we're talking about.

These are good questions to think about before they happen in your game. Obviously the 2 seconds you have to make your decision aren't enough time to go through the whole analysis. You have to know ahead of time what you would do in any outcome.

Thanks for your question, and Merry Christmas to you and your family. By the way, should you get to the Rose Bowl or Parade, look for my son in the alto sax section of the U of M Marching Band. He's a fine referee as well as a musician.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

When an indirect free kick is taken in the manner described the referee will keep his arm raised until he sees the second touch. It's a simple thing to whistle for a stoppage with your arm still raised, showing all the second touch has not happened. This act, alone, nullifies a supposed goal. Nothing else is needed.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Keep arm raised until the second touch occurs. If ball is kicked in goal and players see your arm up, then they know that the second touch did not occur and you signal appropriatly for a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi David,
if YOU are not convinced the 1st touch was a kick then the ball is NOT in play !
An indfk requires a second touch by any other player except the kicker after he kicked the ball into play to legally score a goal.

So if the ball goes directly into the goal it has not fullfilled that requirement. The restart is a goal kick because the ball was last touched by the opponent before crossing the goal line. This applies to any other restart for the bal going out of play who last touched the ball? One or two touches by the same team the ball was last touched by the kicker into touch it is a throw over the goalline it is a goal kick. If the ball touched an opponent be it a third touch or that missing 2nd touch therestart shifts accordingly!

As you are indicating an INDFK by your raised arm, that arm remains in the air until a succesful second touch. It is important because a keeper who sees your arm still in the air may elect not to play that ball and let it enter the goal as he understands he will fullfill the second touch if he should mishandle it.

You would only consider retaking an INDFK that directly enters the goal if you failed to indicate it WAS an INDFK

FIFA Q&A
An indirect free kick is awarded to the attacking team outside the
opponents? penalty area. The referee fails to raise his arm to indicate
that the kick is indirect and the ball is kicked directly into the goal.
What action does the referee take?
He has the free kick retaken because of the referee?s mistake. The
initial indirect free kick, is not nullifi ed by the referee?s mistake.

A player takes a quick free kick and the ball goes into goal. The referee has not had the opportunity to indicate that the free kick was indirect.
What action should the referee take?
Order the kick to be retaken as the original offence only merited an
indirect free kick but the referee did not have the opportunity to give
the recognised signal.


You mention should you blow your whistle?
Are you into a ceremonial kick where a whistle signals the kick to begin?
Consider these two FIFA Q&A
4. May a free kick be taken by lifting the ball with a foot or both feet
simultaneously?
Yes. The ball is in play when it is kicked and moves.
5. When taking a free kick awarded to their team, may players use feinting tactics to confuse opponents?

Yes. It is permitted and is part of football. However, if any opponents
move nearer than 9.15m (10 yards) from the ball before it is in play,
they are cautioned for failing to respect the required distance.

The simple fact we are dealing here is youth have a simple idea that if they touch the ball it satisfies the 1st of the two touch requirement so it is likely that when they do touch it they will be convinced it was a kick. Now as to how perceptive they are to you not dropping your arm because you consider their touch of the ball NOT to be a kick is likely obscure at best.

You could be proactive in telling the young lads that you require the ball to roll off its spot not just be squished as they run over top of it before the kick. I do not think reminding them of the laws the ball must be kicked and moved is offering tactical advice of an unfair nature.

But consider how one might lift a ball with one or two feet? Think, if FIFA say it is ok what sort of kick is that really?

We must be wary of using this incident as a technical gotcha for a ball that you can see is perhaps kicked poorly as opposed to not at all. If the step over touch creates an onrusing defender and you do not consider it to be kicked and the next touch smashes the ball into that defender who went from 10 yards to say now 5 yards. That defender must be cautioned for failure to respect the ten yards are you willing to do that based on these circumstances?

I admittely do not follow USFF ATR guidelines to the exact wording as I am not required to but if I can see the ball has been plainly moved I am likely to consider it kicked! I have had players keep their foot on top of the ball and stand there for a while then roll/kick the ball away to start play. If I see a reach in of a foot to tap the top of a ball as a non kicking motion where I see the step on top and roll off the sole as a kicking motion as my opinion that is the match condition for an INDFK restart.

ON a foot placed on top of the ball and taken away with no ball movement I likely whistle play dead and tell them that is not a kick. Thus all know and the encroaching defenders will now not be cautioned! The next tap of the ball will likely see it roll a bit be it scant inches or more.

If you are going to take away a goal because this restart was done as a DFK not an INDFK because you refuse to see the 1st touch as a proper kick the ball into play as your opinion as referee that is your right as a fact of play it cannot be disputed! Your arm raised up while the bal is in the back of the net signifies to all that is what you belived!

I do agree with this portion of the USSF ATR position "The referee must judge carefully whether any particular kick of the ball and subsequent movement was indeed reasonably taken with the intention of putting the ball into play rather than with the intention merely to position the ball for the restart" Your Match! Your Decision! Your Reputation!
Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14627
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>