Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14889

Law 4 - Players Equipment 2/23/2007

RE: Varsity High School

Michael Chung of Missouri City, TX usa asks...

During a shootout at the end of a tie game, if a shooter is awarded a goal, then it is brought to the official attention that the shooter is inadequatly dress (no shin guards), can the goal be taken away?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Since the shooter has infringed the Laws of the Game (Law 4), and the referee has not restarted play, the score could be called off.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes. That is provided the referee has not restarted play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The deliberate removal of the shinguard after match play has ended and we are into a shoot out to determine a winner is not permitted as law 4 still is required and in force. If a referee allowed the PK to be signalled in and the shinguardless player shot and scored and it was known as it is an infringment in proceedure, if in real match time an INDFK out, here the goal should be disallowed and retaken possible caution! More than likely having to take away a goal hurts enough. Still a sock pulled up this might pass unnoticed!
If the incident passed unnoticed till later and a new kick occured the goal would stand although you make a note inthe match report!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14889
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - Players Equipment

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 20161

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>