Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14922

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/1/2007

RE: Competitive Other

Les Sicherman of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

I am am a senior referee in our city. During a provincial indoor rec tournament the goal keeper and a forward both challenged for a high ball with the forward getting to the ball slightly before the keeper and managing to head the ball imto the net. The progress of the forward however resulted in bulling over the goal keeper. I disallowed the goal.
Was I right in assuming that the action of a foul is not negated when it occurs after legal contact with the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Have to see the action before offering opinion either way. BUT, I can say this: Would this have been accepted play at midfield between two outfield players?

If the answer is yes or no, you have answered your own question. Further in any case of foul play that stops things instantly so the ball must have left the field of play BEFORE the collision happened to count as a goal. You seem to say it did. If what you say is correct then the ball leaving the park under the crossbar and between the posts STOPS play. The three criteria for foul play are: ball in play, on the park and against an opponent -- one is missing, correct?

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If a goal has been scored, there can be no foul. There can, however, be misconduct



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

As in any event unseen we tend to be reluctant to say yes or no we give more of a what if kind of response.
In direct response to your question"Was I right in assuming that the action of a foul is not negated when it occurs after legal contact with the ball? I have some reservations as to the word legal as contact with the ball does not undo further misconduct or a continued foul

If the act of playing a ball is LEGAL and the ball enters the goal then a foul occurs , it in fact did not, what occured was misconduct as the goal stops play once the ball does the cross the goalline, under the crossbar, between the posts. If that misconduct warrants a caution or a send off that would be in the opinion of the referee witnessing the incident.

I do not know if you watched Terry get his head kicked in at the recent Chelsea /Arsenal match but despite the intense contact no foul was awarded because the collision was in the opinion of the referee accidental as equal opportunity to play that ball was present for both players who MAY have been unaware of the other.

While I personally would call it a foul and awarded a PK in your case as referee you must decide was the keeper prevented from making a save because of the collision?
Was that collision unavoidable?
Did or was there any evidence of malice or extra body into the hit? Was there a pull out in progress in trying to cushion or withold the power of the contact??

If you thought the player charged the keeper you could justify the whistle but it best happen before that ball crossed into touch over the goalline. As it is always a tough sell to dig a goal out of the nets. That said if you decided to stop play and the ball entered the goal before you blew the whistle that goal can be disallowed by stating the foul occured before the goal not after, it was just too quick to whistle before the ball crossed the goal line!

Soccer has contact and on equal opportunity balls not every player can switch direction mid flight. As referee you decided the foul occurs because it was not a legal play on the ball but a disguised attempt to run over an opponent or you see the effort made was a legit attempt to score a goal and the accident was the fault more of the keeper being in the way then the opponent running him down. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14922
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14935

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>