Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14935

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/4/2007

RE: Rec/Competitive Adult

Les Sicherman of Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 14922

Thank you for your response [to 14922]. My follow up question to my previous one is: Does soccer carry a parrallel rule or situation as in basketball, whereby, if a player establishes a position (under the basket)... an opposing player cannot crash into him while trying to score a basket no matter if the basket is scored before or after the foul. As in soccer...if a player is performing a scissors kick at head level; does legal contact with the ball followed by a dangerous follow-through to the head of a player(having established his position) constitute a foul?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Kicking is a foul. Pushing is a foul. Charging is a foul - although it can also be done in a legal manner, generally shoulder-to-shoulder. If a player has an established position, an opponent cannot simply barrel through because she wants to get to the other side.

If the referee sees the action as careless, reckless, or done with excessive force, a foul should be called.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Historically, players are entitled to the ground on which they stand. They can not be moved from that ground unless the ball can be, immediately, played after a shoulder to shoulder challenge. Football is a funny old Game and players are expected to be gentlemen at all times.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

You cannot, as in basketball, draw a charge. In soccer you would either be impeding the progress of an opponent or holding if contact were made. As to the bicycle kick, depends on the circumstances and most of us would answer we'd have to be there.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14935
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>