Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 14976

Law 11 - Offside 3/12/2007

RE: REC/AYSO Under 19

Robert Baldwin of Wichita, KS USA asks...

A pass is made to a player who is in the off-side position, but before the ball reaches the player, a defender attemps to head the ball. He does make contact, but the ball continues on to the area of the off-side player, who then plays the ball. Should you call off-sides now that the defense has made a play on the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

All referees should know the difference between playing and deflecting the ball as it relates to interrupting an offside infraction.

If the defense plays the ball without interference from the opponent, offside is "reset" - there should be no call.

If the ball is merely deflected, offside is not "reset", and if the offside-positioned player becomes involved in play (by playing the ball, for example) then the offside call should be made.

Just like any other decisions, the determination of deflected or played is in the opinion of the referee.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Robert,
that ball contact must be controled to consider the ball in one's posession and the last touch of the ball criteria no longer in effect.
The situation you describe appears like it was deflected as opposed to played but the referee in that match makes that decision.

Note point 3 of decision 2 offside law 11
The definitions of elements of involvement in active play are as follows:
Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that
((( rebounds to him off an opponent)))
having been in an offside position.
cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Contact by the opponent is meaningless. CONTROL is what's important. You as the referee have to decide if it's a deflection or control. If control, no offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14976
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 14987

See Question: 14995

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>