- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14976Law 11 - Offside 3/12/2007RE: REC/AYSO Under 19 Robert Baldwin of Wichita, KS USA asks...A pass is made to a player who is in the off-side position, but before the ball reaches the player, a defender attemps to head the ball. He does make contact, but the ball continues on to the area of the off-side player, who then plays the ball. Should you call off-sides now that the defense has made a play on the ball? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol All referees should know the difference between playing and deflecting the ball as it relates to interrupting an offside infraction.
If the defense plays the ball without interference from the opponent, offside is "reset" - there should be no call.
If the ball is merely deflected, offside is not "reset", and if the offside-positioned player becomes involved in play (by playing the ball, for example) then the offside call should be made.
Just like any other decisions, the determination of deflected or played is in the opinion of the referee.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Robert, that ball contact must be controled to consider the ball in one's posession and the last touch of the ball criteria no longer in effect. The situation you describe appears like it was deflected as opposed to played but the referee in that match makes that decision.
Note point 3 of decision 2 offside law 11 The definitions of elements of involvement in active play are as follows: Gaining an advantage by being in that position means playing a ball that rebounds to him off a post or the crossbar having been in an offside position or playing a ball that ((( rebounds to him off an opponent))) having been in an offside position. cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Contact by the opponent is meaningless. CONTROL is what's important. You as the referee have to decide if it's a deflection or control. If control, no offside.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14976
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 14987 See Question: 14995
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|