- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14995Law 11 - Offside 3/16/2007RE: Under 19 Greg Hayes of Mesa, AZ USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 14976 I saw follow-up question 14987 and saw that your panel was working on the reply. Obviously this is a very subjective gray area for the offside call. I was wondering if you agree with my perspective on this situation. Based on the laws of physics dealing with mass and velocity (momentum vectors), I think the answer to 14987 can be somewhat straight forward and less subjective. The ball is initially played by the attacker in the direction of the player that is in an offside position. That played ball has momentum towards the offside positioned player. Even if the ball is moving slowly towards the offside positioned player due to it being projected very sharply up/high or just lightly kicked with a low projection, if the defender touches the ball and does not control it enough to stop its progress towards the offside positioned player, it is a deflection and offside should be called on the attacker. I would still call that a deflection by the defender because it was never really controlled enough by the defender to stop that initial momentum towards the offside attacker. Now if trying to touch the ball, the defender purposely swings his foot or snaps his head clearly in the direction the attacker just happens to be in while in the offside position and doing so clearly and significantly helps speed up the ball's velocity towards the attacker, I would most likely NOT call offside on the attacker. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Here is what US Soccer says about the subject, from Advice to Referees on the Laws of the Game:
11.14 BECOMING "ONSIDE"
A player who is in an offside position at the moment the ball is played by a teammate can become "onside" in only four ways:
1. The player is not nearer to the opposing goal than the ball when it is next played by a teammate.
2. The positions of the opponents change so the player is no longer in an offside position when the ball is next played by a teammate.
3. An opponent intentionally plays or gains possession of the ball.
4. The ball goes out of play.
The key point for all of these, other than the obvious case (4), is that someone other than the player in the offside position has to play the ball; the player cannot put him- or herself "onside."
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson What constitutes possession and control rests as an opinion with you the referee, your perception is the same for both teams then it is a match condition! I think that rather like playing advantage we size up the situation ad then make a decision to allow play or bring it back. With offside we should pretend the flag is Velcro to our side and we must first pull it away then signal to look at the situation and be sure the criteria were in fact fully met. In my opinion a play on the ball as you describe is not necessarily control or possession but as an opinion it is the referee's call to interpret the USSF position "An opponent intentionally plays or gains possession of the ball!" If you thought the defender intentionally played that balls to an offside positioned opponent you must believe that the defender had no idea that opponent was there as why would he do so? For what it is worth I agree a mistake is not the same as a deflection but an attempt is not necessarily control! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14995
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|