Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15191

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/16/2007

RE: Select High School

John Allen of Owensboro, Kentucky USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 12598

The situation with regard to a deliberate pass to the keeper from a teammate became more confusing when the keeper attempted a clearance kick and squibbed the ball off his foot. The keeper then proceeded to chase after the ball and picked the ball up with his hands in the penalty area. An indirect free kick was awarded to the other team at the poing where the keeper picked the ball up. The keeper was claiming that his kick was not a deliberate pass and thereby was allowed to pick up the miskick. Is the keeper or the referee correct in this situation?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The referee. He received the ball from a teammate that deliberately kicked the ball to him. Therefore, he may not handle the ball until it has touched ANOTHER player. That is to say, he cannot kick it and then pick it up.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Ref Contarino has a good answer above.

The referee was 100% correct. The player was only correct in saying that his poor kick wasn't a deliberate pass back, that is true. But what the player fails to realize is once the player released the ball from his hands, he did not have the right to pick it up again until it had touched a different player. In this case, that never happened and the Referee took the proper action by awarding the opponents with an Indirect free kick from the place where the infringment took place.

So, the keeper thought that he was being sanctioned for a different violation than he actually was.




Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Who kicked the ball? If I'm reading your question correctly, the keeper kicked the ball, and then because of his own botched kick, grabbed the ball in his hands again. Is that correct?

If so, we are not talking about the so-called "pass back". Instead we are probably talking about a second touch by the keeper. This assumes that prior to the poor kick, the keeper had handled the ball. The keeper can't touch the ball a second time with his hands until it has come into contact with another player.

Edit: After prompting by my colleagues, I now understand your question. They are correct in their answers. The keeper received the ball on a deliberate kick from his teammate. No matter what action he accomplishes or attempts following that, he is not allowed to handle the ball. There has to be some legal play of the ball by a teammate, or any play of the ball by an opponent, before the keeper is once again free to use his hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Just because the keeper showed good presence of mind, by kicking instead of using his hands in the first place, this does not change the fact he is not permitted to use his hands until the ball touches another player. The main reason for this change to the Laws of the Game was because too many teams wasted time by giving the ball to the keeper and he just stood there holding the ball. The other reason was more goals! In those days keepers used hands not their feet. They were, sometimes, rather clumsy ball handlers and because of this was expected there would be more goals.

There is no ejection seat for a keeper, he gets six seconds to use his hands unless he has already done so or gets the ball after being deliberately kicked by a colleague or directly from a colleague's throw. Kicking the ball badly is not a Law exception, it's a good chance for a goal.

This thought is important! You can't send the keeper off because he used his hands, inside his own penalty area, when the Law says he couldn't because he is excepted in that sending-off offence.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi john,
The keeper claiming that his miss-kick was not a deliberate pass is not the pass that is considered as an infringment is it now?
The criteria of touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate before his miss-kick still remains in effect IF the referee was of that opinion, because no other player has yet come into contact with the ball. True enough it is likely the keeper's intentions not to pick up that ball originally were well intended but a mistake does not undo the criteria of not being able to use his hands?!

I see one of my colleagues is assuming the keeper may have had the ball in his handled possession based on the odd wording of your question? The miss-kick was to himself and as it was accidental thinks it was ok to regrab the ball is as wrong as my first reason i gave you, a mistake does not allow the criteria of touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player to go away.

In either case an INDFK from the point of the illegal handling subject to the special circumstances of LAW 8 in the goal area. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee MrRef

John: you'll note that the question was answered two ways. Perhaps all of us didn't read the question in the same manner.



Read other questions answered by Referee MrRef

View Referee MrRef profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15191
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17058

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>