- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17058Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/2/2007RE: High School scott reitnour of high point, nc guilford asks...This question is a follow up to question 15191 The ball is intentionally played with the foot by a defender, back to his own keeper. The keeper takes a huge first touch with his feet away from defensive pressure. 15 yards away form the keeper's initial touch, the keeper picks the ball up with his hands. The referee correctly calls an indirect free kick, but places the kick at the spot where the defender passed the ball to the keeper. I believe the referee's ruling was incorrect. The indirect free kick should have been awarded at the spot of the infraction. The spot of the infraction is the place on the field where the goalkeeper picked the ball up with his hands. Did the referee make the correct decision with regard to placement of the indirect free kick? Or am I correct in assuming the idfk should have been awarded where the keeper handled the ball? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney You are correct, as long as the place where the goalkeeper actually picked up the ball was in the penalty area, not the goal area. If in the goal area, it would move to the top of the goal area line closest to where the goalkeeper picked it up. When a defender passes a ball deliberately to his keeper, there is no offense if the keeper plays the ball with his feet. The offense occurs the moment he picks up the ball, wherever that might be.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The referee's decision to stop play was correct. The location of his restart was not. This should have happened where the keeper used his hands.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Hi Coach. You get this one. The restart is where the keeper handled the ball unless inside his own goal area where it would come out to the six.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17058
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|