Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15274

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 4/25/2007

RE: Competetive Under 18

Paola Morneau of Bloomingdale, NJ usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15244

OK, but the law says: [15244]

" An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following offences:

* touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate "

It specifies inside his own penalty area. In my scenario the GK was outside the penalty area, the ball was deliberatly kicked back to him and he received it with his feet, dribbled back inside the penalty area, then picked it up.

Not as clearly a foul as you guys seem to suggest, at least as I see it.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Paola,
no disrespect but you see it incorrectly!
The infringment only occurs IF the keeper picks up the ball inside his own area with his hands it DOES NOT distinguish WHERE the keeper recieves the ball. If the keeper used his hands outside his own penalty area it is a DFK for handles the ball deliberately same as any other player. INSIDE the penalty area refers to the use of hands NOT the pass or the line of flight of the ball not the dribble or subsequent movement of the keeper all of which is legal play until he bends down to to pick up that ball that originally was kicked to him deliberately by his team-mate inside his PA.
As a coach you need to warn your keeper if the ball is deliberately kicked to to him by his team-mate under no circumstances can you use your hands no matter if you are outside or inside your penalty area because one will be a dfk and loss of possession and the other an indfk and loss of possession. It is a lose lose situation ok!
Cheers
.



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

We are familiar with how that part of Law 12 reads Coach. We tried to answer your question based on what referees are taught. This is absolutely clear to [most] referees and should be to coaches, as well. If the ball is deliberately kicked to the goalkeeper by a member of his team he can't use his hands inside his own penalty area. Please don't yell at referees who give this foul, they are correct.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Paola, check Advice To Referees On The Laws Of The Game which may be downloaded for free from US Soccer's web site. It specifically states that a keeper may go outside the penalty area, collect a ball with his feet, dribble it back into the penalty area and legally handle the ball only if the ball was legally played to him. They then note if the ball was deliberately kicked to him by a teammate or thrown into him by a teammate, he may NOT subsequently handle the ball. This is simply the way it is.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15274
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>