- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 15562Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/22/2007RE: rec & select Robert Herndon of San Marcos, TX USA asks...Player A is attacking with the ball. Player B runs between Player A and the ball, even though the ball is within playing distance of Player A. Player A smacks into him and falls down. Player B is standing still when the collision occurs. What is the call? Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Don't know. Are these teammates or opponents? Does Player B play the ball or does he run between ball and Player A and stop so as to force PlayerA to run into him?
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino There is not enough information given to answer this question.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Robert, An attacking player who is caught with a set pick as in basketball is likely awarded a DFK for a holding foul. Getting in between the ball and the opponent is not a foul but the actions to play the ball must be in evidence. A shoulder to shoulder collision could be appropriate as legal contact but as my colleagues indicate the information is sketchy! If the movement to intervene was an impeding movement if no contact then any contact upgrades to a DFK foul ! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15562
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 15588
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|