Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15944

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/4/2007

RE: Competive Under 15

Joel Shaw of Melbourne, Victoria Austraila asks...

At our Match the other team passed the ball back to the keeper while he was under pressure and he picked the ball up and then realised he couldn't pick the ball up and then threw it away. The Ref saw everything but we weren't awarded a penalty.
Are the Keepers allowed to pick the ball up when they are under pressure?

Answer provided by Referee Jon Sommer

You would never be awarded a penalty. If the ball was deliberately kicked to the keeper by a team mate and he then picked up or controlled the ball with his hand, the restart should be an indirect free kick from the point of the infraction.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer

View Referee Jon Sommer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

You don't say where the goalkeeper was when he picked up the ball. If it was outside the penalty area, it would be deliberate handling and the restart would be a direct free kick - not a penalty kick, because it was outside the PA.

My colleague covers the situation inside the PA.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Well, no way you'd be awarded a penalty kick for a keeper handling violation. If the referee felt the ball was deliberately kicked to the keeper inside the keeper's own penalty area and the keeper then deliberately handled the ball, the restart is an indirect free kick. If outside the penalty area, doesn't matter who kicked the ball it's a direct free kick. Perhaps the referee felt the kick by the teammate was not deliberate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15944
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 15976

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>