Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15976

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/8/2007

RE: Competive Under 14

Joel of Melbourne, Victoria Australia asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15944

He was in the penalty box when the ball was passed back to him by his teammate

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

AS long as the keeper was INSIDE his own penalty area when he uses his hands the worst he can recieve is an INDFK for illegal handling if one of the four law 12 technical requirements were in effect .
ANY player including the keeper that handles the ball deliberately outside the penalty area is ALWAYS a DFK .

The term "passback" which is a shoddy term for describing the technical terms of a team mate deliberately kicking the ball to his keeper punishable by an INDFK from the point of the infraction.

You need to remember that only a deliberate kick or a direct
throw-in is considered as restricted handling, otherwise a team mate can in fact play the ball back to his keeper provided he does not involve trickery in its application. So the use of a head, chest or knee pass is ok and a keeper suffers no restriction on handling the ball inside his own area!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Thats ok. If ball was deliberatly kicked to keeper by a teammate and the keeper touches ball with hands, then IFK at spot.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15976
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>