- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16419Law 11 - Offside 8/24/2007RE: AYSO Under 15 Blane Sanchez of Isleta, NM US asks...The second Defender on their half of the field, wins the ball, and then hastily kicks the ball toward opposing team's goal. However, the ball strikes another nerby opponent and is deflected backward to a team mate behind the second defender who plays the ball. Is this person offside? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Yes, if they make a play for the ball, interfere with a defender or otherwise gain an advantage from their offside position. They are: 1) closer to the goal than the second to last defender and the ball (thus in an offside position); 2) ball is last touched or played by a member of their own team. It doesn't matter that it simply bounced off their teammate - it touched them - that's all it takes. Now, if the player in an offside position turns away from the ball, stands perfectly still or in some other manner indicates to the referee that he will NOT be involved , and just by his position he is not judged to be interfering with play, then he has committed no offense. It is not an offense to be in an offside position.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Law 11 affords this: A player in an offside position is only penalised, if at the moment the ball touches or is played by one of his own team... You state a team mate touched the ball and it went to an offside player.
And...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16419
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 16437
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|