Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16597

Law 11 - Offside 9/8/2007

RE: Rec Under 17

Fuad of los altos, ca usa asks...

Three part offside question:

A1, A2 are attackers. Both A1, A2 are ahead of all the defenders except the defending GK.

1) A1 has the ball, while trying to score he instead pass it to A2, who then scores.

Decision: Offside, the goal is canceled. Is this correct?

2) A1 has the ball, he shoots at the goal, the GK tried to block the ball, he tips the ball which then reaches A2, who then scores.

Decision: Offside. The goal is canceled. Is this correct?

3) A1 has the ball, he shoots at the goal, the ball bounces off the GK and comes back to A2, who then scores.

Decision: Offside. The goal is canceled. Is this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

In all three cases there is insufficient information for offside position to be determined. You do not stipulate where A2 is in relation to the ball and that is the determining factor here, not that he has only one opponent between him and the goal.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Each one of your questions depends entirely on the position of A2 in relation to the ball and his teammate. If he is ahead of the ball when his teammate kicks it, then anytime he plays the ball in situation 1-3, he is offside. If he is even or behind the ball when his teammate kicks it, all three would be goals. You were perhaps looking for an answer that said the goalkeeper's touch reset the offside, but it cannot if he does not control the ball, and a deflection such as you describe in situation 2 & 3 are not control.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

We need to know where A2 is at the moment the ball touches his teammate. Without knowing this...the question cannot be answered.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16597
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 16635

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>