- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16635Law 11 - Offside 9/10/2007RE: rec Under 17 Fuad of los altos, ca us asks...This question is a follow up to question 16597 Three part offside question (clarification): [16597 refers]
A1, A2 are attackers. Both A1, A2 are ahead of all the defenders except the defending GK. In all three scenarios, A2 was in offside position when the ball was kicked by A1, i.e he was ahead of A1 and the ball was kicked forward.
The main question is whether, in cases 2 and 3, the fact that the goal keeper tipped the ball or deflected it changes the decision.
1) A1 has the ball, while trying to score he instead pass it to A2, who then scores.
Decision: Offside, the goal is canceled. Is this correct?
2) A1 has the ball, he shoots at the goal, the GK tried to block the ball, he tips the ball which then reaches A2, who then scores.
Decision: Offside. The goal is canceled. Is this correct?
3) A1 has the ball, he shoots at the goal, the ball bounces off the GK and comes back to A2, who then scores.
Decision: Offside. The goal is canceled. Is this correct? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol You said, "was ahead of A1 and the ball was kicked forward." You don't specifically say that A2 was ahead of the ball, but I will assume so. If so, offside would be correct in all 3 cases. As a referee, you should know this without question.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Please read law 11 again, then read it again, then clarify it, then read it again, and read it again, and read it again, then re-clarify it, then read it AGAIN!
Be sure to look at all of the diagrams at the back of the law book when you read law 11 many times.
Offside is simple and every person who is has a referee certification should know it and understand it through and through.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson A DEFLECTION CHANGES NOTHING as it applies to the opposition's phase of offside, if the attacking player was offside positioned before the deflection then offside remains in effect, he can not play the ball. If the player was onside before the deflection then he can play the ball.
The only dificult thing that could cause a referee to go huh? is a deflection of the ball can create the possibility both teams could have offside players restricted from playing the ball at the same time!
As you noted since no 2nd last defender is in the equation the POSITION of the ball is key! Whether the ball was closer to the opposing goal line than the attacking recieving player at the time his team-mate passes the ball to him! The ball is about 12 inches wide or so, as long as no playable body part is closer than the leading outside curved edge of the ball the player is onside! If a playable body part so much as a toe or a knee or a leaning head peeps closer to the opposing goal line than the ball, then he is offside positioned!
Keep in mind that players as well as the ball MOVE into different spots on the field AFTER offside position is established so that onside players can look offside and offside players can look onside at the moment of involvement. A good AR or referee must recall the mental stop picture of where is everyone at the crucial moment the ball is last touched by the team mate! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Prior to 1978 an opponent touching or playing the ball allowed an offside attacker to be involved from his offside position. That is not the case any more. In order for an offside player to become involved one of three things must happen.
1. the ball is again touched by his side and he is, by then, in a position that is no longer offside;
2. his opponents establish control of the ball;
3. the ball is no longer in play.
In all three cases you ask about the correct decision is an offside offence has been committed.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16635
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|