Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16690

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/14/2007

RE: Rec (AYSO) Under 13

Led Gardner of Knoxville, Tennessee USA asks...

Situation:
The keeper collects the ball from a shot on goal. She picks the ball up and goes to punt it, but she misses the ball on the kick. The ball drops to the ground inside the penalty area. She runs up and kicks the ball out of the penalty area without touching the ball with her hands.

Question: Should an indirect kick have been awarded to the attacking team because she touched the ball twice - once with her hands and once with her feet?

Comment: A reading of Law 12 would seem to indicate that no penalty should be invoked since she did not touch the ball a second time with her hands, but I have a nagging feeling that somewhere else in the Laws there is a clause that would require an indirect kick because she did touch the ball twice. Double touch rule? Help.

Thanks.

Led Gardner

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The double-touch rule applies only to deliberate handling by the keeper. Law 12 specifically says this. If you believed that the keeper kicking a muffed punt was a second touch, why would the good punt itself not be a second touch after releasing the ball from her hands?



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Once the keeper releases the ball from her hands it is free for all to play. This includes the keeper! Law 12 does specify that the keeper can't use her hands again until the ball touches another player. You'll note the second touch thing is only considered on a restart of play and never when play is running as it is in this case.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No. The keeper cannot handle a pass kicked to him by a teammate deliberatly. This was just a mishandle - so the keeper can kick ball away. Note that he could not pick it up with hands until ball touches a opponent or a teammate that did not kick ball to keeper deliberatly.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16690
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 17366

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>