Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 17366

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 10/17/2007

Wayne Hicks of Danville, CA USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 16690

Mr. Fleischer's comment with repsect to a second touch [16690] only being on a restart is incorrect. If you read Law 12 and the Advice to Referees 12.19 there is no requirement that the second touch be on a restart. To the contrary, 12.19 states "after relinquishing control of the ball" and makes no indication that there be a restart involved.

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I won't speak for Ref Fleischer but I believe he was referring to second touches in general not concerning the keeper. That is second touches with the HAND only involve the keeper and only during dynamic play. All other second touches are at restarts and all involve the foot because if the player used the hand it would be deliberately handling the ball which is a more serious direct kick offense. Yes, technically it would be a "second touch" but the commission of a DFK offense overrides the IFK offense.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

ATR 12.19 SECOND TOUCH BY THE GOALKEEPER discusses ONLY a second touch by the goalkeeper with his or her hands after releasing it into play. It specifically addresses the point another player must touch the ball before the keeper is permitted to touch the ball again with his or her hands. The referenced question indicated a keeper was penalized for touching the ball with his or her FOOT after releasing it from her hands in to play. This is an incorrect application of Law. Here play should be allowed to continue.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

There are two kinds of second-touch offenses.

AtR 12.19 is discussing one, which can be committed only by the goalkeeper. She may not touch the ball a second time with her hands after she releases it, until it is touched by another player.

The other kind of second touch is when a player takes a restart, any kind of kick or a throw-in. That player is not allowed to touch the ball a second time in any manner until it touches another player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17366
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>