Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16869

Law 15 - Throw In 9/24/2007

RE: Grade 8 Under 19

Greg McGuire of Ft. Collins, Colorado USA asks...

On throw-ins, if the ball never enters the field of play, what is the correct call?

Also, the FIFA Official Rules and Regulations book does not mention anything about lifting the foot during a throw-in. Is it correct to award a throw-in to the opposing team if a player lifts his/her foot while throwing in the ball?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

FIFA doesn't have Rules and Regulations (well they do, but in regards to membership and meetings and voting rights). FIFA games are governed by the Laws of the Game. And in Law 15 we find that the thrower "has part of each foot either on the touch line or on the ground outside the touch line." So if the thrower lifts his foot, it's not touching the ground.

We also find that "The ball is in play immediately after it enters the field of play." If it never entered the field, the restart was not taken, so it must be tried again.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Sure it does. It says both feet are either on the touch line or on the ground behind the touchline. This means the feet must NOT be in the air. That said, remember a throw-in is merely a methos to restart play. If a foot comes up an inch or so and there's no advantage gained, this is usually viewed as a trifling infraction and the referee allows play to continue. Also, if the ball never comes into play, the throw is retaken. Note that in the wacky world of US High School soccer, a throw would be awarded to the other team



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16869
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 16916

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>