Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16916

Law 15 - Throw In 9/26/2007

RE: all Other

ref47 of arlington, va usa asks...

This question is a follow up to question 16869

i believe that the answer to the original question [16869] was not complete. prefiously in the lotg and q&as to the laws, it was stated that a throwin that did not enter the fop was retaken. now, the 07-08 version states that a properly taken throwin that does not enter the fop is retaken, but an improperly taken throwin that does not enter the fop is taken by the opponent. do you folks agree?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes,
I held that opinion long before the change was specifically stated as the word *correct* had to be of some purpose in the FIFa Q&A. ;o)
It does seem to fly against tradition given a restart has to occur first to put a ball into play but with the INDFK for a backheel in the PK law 14 came about. Traditions have shifted a bit!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

You are correct in what you say Bert. However the referenced question asked two distinct things. It did not ask what to do with an incorrectly thrown ball that didn't enter the field of play.

The FIFA Additional Instruction regarding this event was addressed by the folks working on Advice 2007, it was deemed necessary to further amplify paragraph 15.4. Here is that change:

Referees must distinguish between a throw-in which infringes on the requirements of Law 15 and one which is not properly taken such that the restart is said not to have been taken. In the first case
(infringement), possession of the restart is given to the opponents and taken from the same location; under no circumstances may advantage be applied to a throw-in performed illegally. In the case of a throw-in which is not properly taken, the restart must be taken again by the same team from the same location.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If you think about it, if this were NOT the case, you could never punish a throw as being foul if the thrower only took it with one foot on the ground. I understand the ball never came into play but we all have punished a player for having a foot in the air BEFORE the throw was taken. Theoretically, you should be able to do almost anything before the ball is put into play without changing the restart but in practice, this has never been the case of a throw-in as all the things one does to make a throw foul occur BEFORE the ball breaks the plane of the touchline.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16916
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>